Add to SUNY Orange Google Calendar

Share |

Back to Calendar :: Back to Current Announcements

War in the Arts: Redeeming Spirits

Dates:
11/02/2017 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
11/03/2017 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
11/06/2017 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
11/07/2017 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
11/08/2017 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
11/09/2017 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
11/10/2017 (Fri): 9:00 am- 9:00 pm
11/11/2017 (Sat): 7:00 pm- 9:00 pm
11/12/2017 (Sun): 2:30 pm- 4:30 pm
11/13/2017 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
11/14/2017 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
11/15/2017 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
11/16/2017 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
11/17/2017 (Fri): 9:00 am- 9:00 pm
11/18/2017 (Sat): 7:00 pm- 9:00 pm
11/19/2017 (Sun): 2:30 pm- 4:30 pm
11/20/2017 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
Category: Campus Events
Description:

During the month of November in Orange Hall Gallery, the exhibit on view will be on a timely, yet seemingly constant topic – war. Titled "War in the Arts: Redeeming Spirits," the goal is to express what war does to the human spirit, the community, the family, ethnic groups, countries, historically through present day, and then to reflect upon that and relate through one’s artform. This is not intended to be political.

Artists have used paintings, drawings, sculptures, assemblages, collages, photography, embroidery and fabric, animation, video,  and poetry to reflect and relate their personal reactions to war.

Several participants are war veterans themselves including an 87 year old Korean War combat photographer. The reflections are poignant and powerful. Artworks depict in representational, semi-abstract and abstract styles the Civil War, WWs I & II, Korean, Vietnam, Central America, 9/11, the Nigerian Civil War, Israel/Palestine, misplaced migrant workers, Afghanistan, and Iraq. Poems speak the pervasive feelings of fear and horror of combinations of wars; yet often the uplifting human spirit of courage and optimism to move forward. 

This extensive exhibit, curated by Karen Gersch, will be on view from Nov. 2 through Nov. 20, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday through Thursday and 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Friday. Additional weekend hours are Fridays, Nov. 10 & 17 and Saturdays, Nov. 11 & 18 from 7 to 9 p.m. and Sundays, Nov. 12 & 19 from 2:30 to 4:30 p.m.

At the opening reception on Saturday, Nov. 4 from 1 to 3:30 p.m., pianist Geoff Hamburg will play classical and contemporary music. Both the exhibit and reception are free and open to the public.

Orange Hall is located on the campus of SUNY Orange at the corner of Wawayanda and Grandview Avenues, Middletown. (GPS: 24 Grandview Ave.) Questions may be directed to Cultural Affairs at (845) 341-4891 and cultural@sunyorange.edu.  Also, visit the Cultural Affairs website at www.sunyorange.edu/culturalaffairs.

Location: Orange Hall Gallary
Fee: FREE
Sponsor: Cultural Affairs
Phone: (845) 341-4891
E-mail: cultural@sunyorange.edu
Web Page: Follow this link
Announcement: War in the Arts: Redeeming Spirits