Add to SUNY Orange Google Calendar

Share |

Back to Calendar :: Back to Current Announcements

Middletown Art Group 2017 Members' Spring Exhibition

Dates:
05/05/2017 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
05/08/2017 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/09/2017 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/10/2017 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/11/2017 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/12/2017 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
05/15/2017 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/16/2017 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/17/2017 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/18/2017 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/19/2017 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
05/21/2017 (Sun): 1:00 pm- 4:00 pm
05/22/2017 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/23/2017 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/24/2017 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/25/2017 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/26/2017 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
05/30/2017 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
05/31/2017 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/01/2017 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/05/2017 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/06/2017 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/07/2017 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/08/2017 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/12/2017 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/13/2017 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/14/2017 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
06/15/2017 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
Category: Art Shows
Description:

The Middletown Art Group [MAG] continues its celebration into its seventh decade of being an active, creative organization with the “Middletown Art Group 2017 Members’ Spring Exhibition.” Diversity in membership, technique, and concept are exemplified through the various media by the 75+ pieces: oils, acrylics, pastels, encaustics, watercolors, tempera, mixed media, photography, collage, charcoal, driftwood, and stone.

The exhibit will be on view in Orange Hall Gallery May 5 through June 15, 2017. During this timeframe a memorial exhibit honoring three members who have passed away this year will be displayed in the Orange Hall Gallery Loft. Watercolors by Mickie MacMillan, Eugenia Mitchell, and Walter Bill will be featured. In addition, a solo show of the works of longtime MAG member, Sally Berger, will be exhibited in Orange Hall Gallery Fringe.

Highlighting the shows is the reception from 1 to 4 p.m. on Sunday, May 21. In keeping with the lively afternoon, pianist Bev Poyerd will play selections of jazz, show, and classical music on the baby grand. During the reception, mini-demonstrations will be given by members Dennis Fanton in oil, Lynwa Kreimann in watercolor, and Marion Teehan in pastel. They will explain as they create and also, will welcome questions. At the end of the reception, prizes will be awarded to exhibiting members.

The exhibition and reception are free and open to the public. Gallery hours are Monday through Thursday - 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. and Friday - 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. through May. The college is closed on Memorial Day Weekend and on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays in June.

The organization was established in 1946 “for the purpose of exchanging ideas between artists, craftsmen, art teachers, and students and of providing an atmosphere in which to improve individual skills and respect for the efforts of others.”  MAG continues that tradition and throughout the year sponsors demonstrations and lectures which promote the study of the arts.

Even though the name “Middletown Art Group” seems to give the impression of exclusiveness to Middletown residents, that is not the case as members reside in other parts of Orange County as well as Sullivan, Ulster, Dutchess, Sussex, and Pike Counties.

This year’s show judge is award-winning oil painter, Peter Fiore, who states, “I am interested in making the simple profound, always searching for that universal moment in the world around us.”

Show co-chairs are Ronnie Plucinski and Denise Shelby Isseks, along with Barbara Bonham coordinating and designing the catalog.

Orange Hall is located at the corner of Wawayanda and Grandview Avenues (GPS: 24 Grandview Avenue), Middletown. Questions may be directed to Cultural Affairs at (845)341-4891 and cultural@sunyorange.edu

You may also check out the Cultural Affairs website at www.sunyorange.edu/culturalaffairs.

Location: Orange Hall Gallery
Fee: FREE
Sponsor: Cultural Affairs
Phone: (845) 341-4891
E-mail: cultural@sunyorange.edu
Web Page: Follow this link
Announcement: Middletown Art Group 2017 Members' Spring Exhibition

Related Events