Add to SUNY Orange Google Calendar

Share |

Back to Calendar :: Back to Current Announcements

A VISION and A VERSE: The Wheel of the Year in Word and Image

Dates:
08/19/2016 (Fri): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
08/22/2016 (Mon): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
08/23/2016 (Tue): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
08/24/2016 (Wed): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
08/25/2016 (Thu): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
08/26/2016 (Fri): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
08/27/2016 (Sat): 4:00 pm- 7:00 pm
08/29/2016 (Mon): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
08/30/2016 (Tue): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
08/31/2016 (Wed): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/01/2016 (Thu): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/02/2016 (Fri): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/06/2016 (Tue): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/07/2016 (Wed): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/08/2016 (Thu): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/09/2016 (Fri): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/12/2016 (Mon): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/13/2016 (Tue): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/14/2016 (Wed): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/15/2016 (Thu): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/16/2016 (Fri): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/19/2016 (Mon): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/20/2016 (Tue): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/21/2016 (Wed): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/22/2016 (Thu): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/23/2016 (Fri): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/24/2016 (Sat): 6:30 pm- 10:00 pm
09/26/2016 (Mon): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/27/2016 (Tue): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/28/2016 (Wed): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/29/2016 (Thu): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
09/30/2016 (Fri): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
10/03/2016 (Mon): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
10/04/2016 (Tue): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
10/05/2016 (Wed): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
10/06/2016 (Thu): 9:00 am- 5:00 pm
Category: Art Shows
Description:

As a working photographer and publishing poet, Margaret McCarthy has long been intrigued by the possibilities of combining these two passions—photography and poetry.  The interplay between image and text creates a third thing—something more than the sum of its parts.  What emerges from the synergy between the two?

"A VISION and A VERSE: The Wheel of the Year in Word and Image"

Neo-romantic in style, her photography is inspired by the archetypes of myth and dream. Her goal is to reach the viewer on an intuitive level, with images that are visually, psychologically, and spiritually compelling. She accomplishes this by making images that link the past and future, inner and outer worlds, art and commerce.

"A VISION and A VERSE" will be on display in the Mindy Ross Gallery, Kaplan Hall August 19 through October 6, 2016.  At Newburgh Last Saturdays #NBLS, August 27, the 4 to 7 p.m. reception will give McCarthy the opportunity to meet viewers as well as have a booksigning.  She will give a reading beginning at 6:15 p.m. in the gallery.

The reception and exhibit are free and open to the public.

A graduate of NYC’s School of Visual Arts, McCarthy works as a professional photographer in New York City; her photographs have been widely exhibited.  She publishes an electronic broadside.

The Mindy Ross Gallery is located in Kaplan Hall which is situated at the corner of Grand and First Streets, Newburgh, NY.  Free and secure parking is available in the Kaplan Hall garage accessible at 73 First Street.

Questions may be addressed to Cultural Affairs at cultural@sunyorange.edu or 845-341-4891/9386.  You may also view the Cultural Affairs website at www.sunyorange.edu/culturalaffairs.

Location: Mindy Ross Gallery, Kaplan Hall
Fee: FREE
Sponsor: Cultural Affairs
Phone: (845) 341-4891
(845) 341-9386
E-mail: cultural@sunyorange.edu
Web Page: Follow this link
Announcement: A VISION and A VERSE: The Wheel of the Year in Word and Image