Add to SUNY Orange Google Calendar

Share |

Back to Calendar :: Back to Current Announcements

River Valley Artists Guild 2014 Summer Members Show

Dates:
07/15/2014 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
07/16/2014 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
07/17/2014 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
07/21/2014 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
07/22/2014 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
07/23/2014 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
07/24/2014 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
07/27/2014 (Sun): 1:00 pm- 4:00 pm
07/28/2014 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
07/29/2014 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
07/30/2014 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
07/31/2014 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
08/01/2014 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
08/04/2014 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
08/05/2014 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
08/06/2014 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
08/07/2014 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
08/08/2014 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
08/11/2014 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
08/12/2014 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
Category: Art Shows
Description:

It’s been 10 years since a small group of artists got together and decided to form the River Valley Artists Guild. The late Bernie Kilbourn, along with his artist friends Matilda Grech, Paul Horsman, Elaine Tedesco, and Elizabeth Hayes, all then residents of Port Jervis, put their combined years of experience together to start this group.

They wanted it to be a broad spectrum arts organization; so the word guild was used in order to include artisan craftsmen. Through this first decade, various types of works have been displayed at the members’ shows. Most of the members come from New York and Pennsylvania communities bordering the Delaware River with some from Milford, Pa., as well as Middletown and Newburgh in Orange County, Mohegan Lake in Westchester County, and Branchville, N.J.

The "River Valley Artists Guild 2014 Summer Members Show" will be on exhibit in Orange Hall Gallery July 15 through August 12. Artworks will be in several media including oils, acrylics, watercolors, pastels, air brush, photographs, acrylic collage, fabric art, and weaving.

The present president is Joan Kehlenbeck of Cuddebackville who will have an ongoing demonstration using oil with brushes and palate knives of how she creates the illusion of surf and the movement of waves in her ocean paintings. Entitled "Triptych Seascapes on Canvas" the artwork will consist of three 18 x 24" canvases hinged to form a free standing triangle. The whole painting will be done during the reception scheduled for Sunday, July 27 from 1 to 4 p.m. In addition to the art demonstration, classical guitarist Joy Zelada of Newburgh will play throughout the reception.

To further the visual experience, on the wall of Orange Hall Gallery Fringe, Kehlenbeck will be exhibiting her artworks that depict water scenes in a show entitled "Capturing the Motion of Water through Pastels and Oils."

The reception and exhibits are free and open to the public. Gallery hours are Monday through Thursday 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. in July. In August, additional hours are Friday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Orange Hall is located at the corner of Grandview and Wawayanda Avenues on the Middletown campus of Orange County Community College. Questions may be directed to Cultural Affairs at (845) 341-4891 and cultural@sunyorange.edu. You may also visit the Cultural Affairs website at www.sunyorange.edu/culturalaffairs.

Location: Orange Hall Gallery
Fee: FREE
Sponsor: Cultural Affairs
Phone: (845) 341-4891
E-mail: cultural@sunyorange.edu
Web Page: Follow this link
Announcement: River Valley Artists Guild 2014 Summer Members Show

Related Events