Add to SUNY Orange Google Calendar

Share |

Back to Calendar :: Back to Current Announcements

North East Watercolor Society 2013 Members' Show

Dates:
02/11/2013 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/12/2013 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/13/2013 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/14/2013 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/15/2013 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
02/17/2013 (Sun): 2:30 pm- 5:00 pm
02/18/2013 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/19/2013 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/20/2013 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/21/2013 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/22/2013 (Fri): 9:00 am- 9:30 pm
02/23/2013 (Sat): 6:30 pm- 9:30 pm
02/24/2013 (Sun): 1:00 pm- 4:15 pm
02/25/2013 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/26/2013 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/27/2013 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/28/2013 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/01/2013 (Fri): 6:30 pm- 9:30 pm
03/04/2013 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/05/2013 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/06/2013 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/07/2013 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/08/2013 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
03/09/2013 (Sat): 9:00 am- 9:30 pm
03/11/2013 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/12/2013 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/13/2013 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/14/2013 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/15/2013 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
03/18/2013 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/19/2013 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/20/2013 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/21/2013 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/22/2013 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
Category: Art Shows
Description:

The North East Watercolor Society [NEWS] returns to SUNY Orange for six weeks for its 2013 Members’ Show. Over 100 paintings will grace the walls of Orange Hall Gallery and Loft February 11 through March 22.  Works include still lifes, florals, land and seascapes, portraits, and semi-abstracts. Artists from all over the United States and Canada comprise the membership of this society which has its roots in the Orange County Watercolor Society.

The Reception for this superb exhibit is Sunday, February 24 from 1:00 to 4:15pm. From 1 to 2:30pm, music be provided by the pianist Geoff Hamburg and flutist/saxophonist Tom DeCelle of Albany who will play jazz and popular standards. They are a lively duo.

Pat Billeci is this year’s featured artist and exhibit judge. Although she paints landscapes, florals, and still lifes,  portraits are her specialty, and it is that subject on which she will present a demonstration from 2:30 to 3:45pm entitled Foundations of a Water Color Portrait. While many artists and art appreciators may consider watercolor to be the least likely medium to be used in portraits, Pat Billeci’s portraits and the technique by which she creates them should convert any onlooker. Her subjects seem to engage their viewers with eye contact, and with her choices of color and the perception of light, the subjects seemly are brought to life.

The awards ceremony will immediately follow the art demonstration at 3:45pm.        

The exhibit and reception are free and open to the public. Gallery hours are Monday through Thursday 9am to 8pm and Friday 9am to 6pm. Additional hours are Sunday, February 17 2:30 to 5pm, Fridays, February 22 and March 1 and Saturdays, February 23 and March 9 6:30-9:30pm.

Location: Orange Hall Gallery and Loft
Fee: FREE
Sponsor: Cultural Affairs
Phone: (845) 341-4891
E-mail: cultural@sunyorange.edu
Web Page: Follow this link
Announcement: North East Watercolor Society 2013 Members' Show

Related Events