Share |

College Level Examination Program (CLEP) Testing Procedure

Logo: CLEP Testing

Save Money on Tuition and Graduate Sooner!

Earn college credit by passing a CLEP test. CLEP is a nationally recognized series of examinations which allow the student to demonstrate knowledge acquired in a non-college setting. Credit is awarded based on the score earned for each examination.

REGISTERING AND SCHEDULING A CLEP TEST

1) First, register and pay for the CLEP exam directly on the CLEP website.

*During the registration process, if you reach the "Test Confirmation and Score Send" tab and are unable to find SUNY Orange or Orange County Community College under the "Send to College or University" option, please select the "Identify Recipient to Send Score" option and fill in the fields with the following information:

  • College/University: Orange County Community College
  • Street Address: 115 South Street
  • City: Middletown
  • State: New York
  • ZIP: 10940

2) Next, schedule a date to take the exam at SUNY Orange by calling (845) 341-4890.

TEST DATES

*No CLEP Testing will be held during the month of August 2017

SEPTEMBER:

  • Friday, September 15, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Monday, September 18, 2017 at 10:30 am
  • Friday, September 22, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Monday, September 25, 2017 at 10:30 am
  • Friday, September 29, 2017 at 1:30 pm

OCTOBER:

  • Tuesday, October 3, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Friday, October 6, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Tuesday, October 10, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Friday, October 13, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Tuesday, October 17, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Friday, October 20, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Tuesday, October 24, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Friday, October 27, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Tuesday, October 31, 2017 at 1:30 pm

NOVEMBER:

  • Friday, November 3, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Tuesday, November 7, 2017 at 12:30 pm
  • Friday, November 10, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Tuesday, November 14, 2017 at 12:30 pm
  • Friday, November 17, 2017 at 1:30 pm
  • Tuesday, November 21, 2017 at 12:30 pm
  • Tuesday, November 28, 2017 at 12:30 pm

DECEMBER:

  • Monday, December 4, 2017 at 10:30 am
  • Tuesday, December 5, 2017 at 12:30 pm
  • Monday, December 11, 2017 at 10:30 am
  • Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 12:30 pm

PAYMENT AND REGISTRATION

Test takers must pay a non-refundable, non-transferable SUNY Orange proctor fee of $25 prior to their testing appointment. Test takers may pay the SUNY Orange test fee by MasterCard, Visa, Discover, American Express or money order. Money orders should be made payable to SUNY Orange.

PRIOR TO THE TEST DAY: Test takers must pay the CollegeBoard fee and complete a CLEP registration form. Test takers must print the CLEP Registration Ticket and bring it to the Testing Center on the day of the exam.

ON THE TEST DAY: Test takers must pick up a registration form in the CAPE Office (Christine Morrison House) and take it to Student Services Central (Shepard Student Center, third floor) to pay the SUNY Orange $25 proctor fee.

Test takers may then proceed to the Testing Center (Shepard Student Center, room 225) with:

  1. Valid, government-issued photo identification with a signature (such as a driver’s license, passport, or military ID)
  2. CLEP Registration Ticket
  3. Payment receipt from SUNY Orange for the $25 proctor fee

*Test takers will not be admitted to the Testing Center without all three of these items. SUNY Orange is not able to access CLEP Registration tickets, so test takers must bring these to the exam.

OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Several exams (American Literature, Analyzing and Interpreting Literature, College Composition Modular, and English Literature) have an optional essay that accompanies the multiple choice exam. You must check with your school to find out if the optional essay is required. The optional essays are required for SUNY Orange students.

If you need to complete the optional essay, you will need to register for it separately and pay an additional $25 SUNY Orange proctor fee. We recommend that you wait to schedule the essay until after you have completed the multiple choice exam, however, you may choose to take both on the same date if you prefer.

Please see the following documents for information regarding SUNY Orange's CLEP policy. Please note that this applies only to SUNY Orange students and does not reflect the credit-granting policies of other institutions.