String and Woodwind Instrumentalists to Perform in College’s Stately Morrison Hall Mansion

MIDDLETOWN, N.Y. – The SUNY Orange Chamber Ensemble will provide an evening of music from such noted classical and contemporary composers as Wolfgang Mozart, Ralph Vaughan Williams, Pyotr Tchaikovsky, Stefan “Coboflupi” Rotter, Gabriel Fauré and Anton Reicha at 6 p.m., Saturday, Dec. 17 in Morrison Hall on the College’s Middletown campus.

Concert patrons can return to the days of live classical music being performed in elegant homes as the Chamber Ensemble, under the direction of Dr. Hilarie Clark Moore, fills the stately century old mansion with a varied program of musical styles from across the ages. The concert is offered in conjunction with the College’s annual Holiday Open House at Morrison Hall, which will run from 1 to 5 p.m. on the weekends of Dec. 10-11 and 17-18. Admission to the concert is free.

The evening program opens with Mozart’s “Divertimento Nr. 4, KV 439d,” to be followed by Vaughan Williams’ “Fantasia on Christmas Carols ‘The Truth from Above’.” Both arrangements will feature the woodwind trio of Donna Lavins (flute), Joanna Simon (oboe) and Lara Patel (bassoon).

Autumn Mason (first violin), Florence Ruckdeschel (second violin), Matthew Tymczyszyn (viola), Alyssa Sollazzo (cello) and Milan Hanley-Rhone (bass) will perform the finale of Tchaikovsky’s “Serenade for String Orchestra, Op. 48” while Dan Teare (flute), Joel Simon (oboe) and Allan Plumb (clarinet) will join forces for Reicha’s “Six Trios Op. 82/1.” Teare, Joel Simon and Plumb will break off into duets to perform Coboflupi’s “Kiki and Kuku go for a walk, Op. 2” and Fauré’s “Pavanne, Op. 50.”

The Chamber Ensemble is comprised of SUNY Orange students and community musicians. For more information, contact the Arts and Communication Department at (845) 341-4787.

» Back to Headlines

Mike Albright
Communications Officer
115 South Street
Middletown, NY 10940