April 10 Event to Honor Ed Devitt, Leo Kaytes Sr., Hal Teitelbaum, Steve Winter and Ed Diana

MIDDLETOWN, N.Y. – A prominent Orange County realtor and economic development proponent, a civic-minded automobile dealer, a visionary healthcare executive and a longtime SUNY Orange professor will be honored when the SUNY Orange Foundation presents its 2014 Leadership Awards April 10 in the OCTC Great Room of Kaplan Hall on the College’s Newburgh campus.

Honoring this year’s awardees under the theme of “The Spirit of Entrepreneurship,” leadership medals will be presented to F. Edward Devitt (Alumni Leadership), Leo Kaytes Sr. (Leadership in Community), Hal Teitelbaum (Leadership in Business) and Stephen Winter (Leadership in Education). Additionally, the Foundation will present a special distinguished alumni recognition to recently retired Orange County Executive Ed Diana, a 1968 graduate of the College.

The evening will begin with a 5 p.m. cocktail hour preceding the 7 p.m. awards presentation.

PHOTO: Ed DevittA lifelong resident of Orange County, Devitt (left) has been a developer, businessman and preservationist. He currently owns and operates Devitt Management Associates with his son Marc. For many years, Devitt was a co-owner of the master franchise for Super 8 Motels in New York State. Devitt served as an Orange County legislator for eight years and has been a leader in the business community since graduating from SUNY Orange in 1966.

PHOTO: Leo Kaytes Sr.In 1978, Leo Kaytes Sr. (right, photo first appeared in "The Warwick Advertiser") founded Leo Kaytes Ford on Route 94 in Warwick. From its initial days, the dealership has been serving the automotive needs of its neighbors while Kaytes himself has volunteered countless hours to help make the community a better place to live, work and raise a family. He’s been a generous contributor to many nonprofits, community causes and special events, and has often offered the use of his dealership showroom for fundraisers and art exhibits.

He is the longtime president of the Winslow Therapeutic Riding Center. Kaytes and his wife, Gladys, were among the group of founders of the St. Ignatius Antiochian Orthodox Mission. He has been named “Citizen of the Year” and received the “2005 Caring for Life Award” for his support of the Bon Secours Warwick Healthcare Campus.

PHOTO: Hal TeitelbaumTeitelbaum (left) is the founder, managing partner and chief executive officer of Crystal Run Healthcare, a premier multi-specialty group medical practice serving the mid-Hudson Valley and Catskills. Founded in 1996, Crystal Run now includes more than 250 physicians and more than 300 healthcare providers practicing 40 specialties at 16 sites in the region. It remains among the fastest growing medical practices in the northeast. Crystal Run was an early adopter of electronic health records and was among the first 27 provider entities in the United States to participate in the Medicare Shared Savings Program as an Accountable Care Organization (ACO).

PHOTO: Steve WinterWinter, the longest tenured professor currently at the College in a full-time role, is nearing the completion of his 51st year as a full-time faculty member at SUNY Orange. Throughout his tenure, Winter has been a leader and visionary in implementing new and innovative programs designed with student learning in mind.

He served as chair of the Business Department for 24 years. Under his guidance, the department developed the A.S. degree program in business administration and the A.A.S degree in marketing. Nearly 30 years ago, he was the first SUNY Orange professor to offer an Honors course. He instituted the use of advisory boards in the Business Department, and those boards continue to support the College today. More recently, Winter has become an advocate for utilizing technology in the classroom and has led his colleagues in the adoption of distance learning.

PHOTO: Ed DianaA lifelong public servant and recently retired Orange County Executive, Diana (left) has a wide range of experience working in various levels of government. He was first elected County Executive in 2001 and served with distinction for three terms. Prior to being elected County Executive, Diana served 12 years as a county legislator and for six years held the position of county majority leader. He also served as councilman and deputy supervisor in the Town of Wallkill in the 1980s. For more than 30 years, Diana worked as an educator, physical education instructor and coach in the Minisink Valley School district.

The SUNY Orange Foundation was established as a non-profit corporation in 1987. According to the Foundation by-laws, the objectives for which the foundation exists are to solicit, receive, hold, invest, administer and make expenditures of gifts to or for the benefit of Orange County Community College. In the current 2013-14 academic year, the Foundation awarded nearly $275,000 in scholarships that helped deserving students attend SUNY Orange.

For information on this year’s awards program, contact Russell Hammond at (845) 341-4337.

Past Recipients of the SUNY Orange Foundation Leadership Awards

Leadership in Business
2006: John A. D’Ambrosio, president, Orange County Chamber of Commerce
2007: James W. Taylor Jr., chairman, Taylor Recycling
2008: Frontier Communications
2009: Advance Testing
2010: Orange Regional Medical Center
2011: Orange County Trust Company
2011: Orange County Partnership
2012: Kelly M. Williams, managing director and global head, Credit Suisse Customized Fund Investment Group

Leadership in Community
2006: John J. “Jack” McMahon, former administrator, SUNY Orange
2007: Ralph Martucci Jr., director of corporate business operations, Ottaway Newspapers
2008: Roberta “Bobbie” Glinton ’64, agent, Hawks Nest Realty
2008: Rich and Marianne (’83) Rowley, community activists
2009: Kaplan Family Charitable Foundations
2009: Barbara Bedell, columnist, Times Herald-Record
2010: 105th Airlift Wing of the New York Air National Guard
2011: Thomas P. Sullivan, president, Smith, Seaman & Quackenbush, Inc. Funeral Home
2012: Kathy Frommer, co-founder and former chief executive officer, CRS Retail Systems

Leadership in Education
2006: Joan I. Siegel, faculty emeritus, SUNY Orange
2007: Don Przytula, guidance counselor, Monroe-Woodbury High School
2008: Sister Ann Sakac, former president, Mount Saint Mary College
2009: Dr. John Cummins, faculty emeritus, SUNY Orange
2010: Christine Godwin, faculty emeritus, SUNY Orange
2011: Dr. William Richards, president, SUNY Orange
2012: Vera M. Best, founder, Best Resource Center, Inc.

Alumni Leadership Award
2009: Manfred Altstadt ’70, chief operating officer, Mutual of America
2010: David S. MacFarland ’70, president, Riverside Bank
2011: Karen Miller ’71, manager of communications, southeast region, Frontier Communications
2012: Kim M. Boylan ’79, senior tax partner, White and Case LLP

» Back to Headlines

Mike Albright
Communications Officer
115 South Street
Middletown, NY 10940