Orange County Trust, Orange County Partnership, Thomas P. Sullivan, Dr. William Richards, Karen Miller to be Honored

MIDDLETOWN, N.Y. – A local bank, a respected community leader, a not-for-profit organization and the College’s president have been tabbed to receive the SUNY Orange Foundation’s 2011 Leadership Awards, to be presented Sept. 20 in Orange Hall Theatre on the College’s Middletown campus.

Awards will be presented to Orange County Trust Company (Leadership in Business), Orange County Partnership (Leadership in Business), Thomas P. Sullivan (Leadership in Community) and Dr. William Richards (Leadership in Education). Additionally, Karen Miller, Class of 1971, will be issued the Alumni Leadership Award. This year’s event marks the sixth year in which the College and its Foundation have celebrated the achievements and contributions of local individuals, businesses and organizations.

Nicholas Illobre (Class of 1971), chair of the SUNY Orange Foundation, and Derrik Wynkoop, chair of the Foundation's Leadership Awards committee, will host the event, which will begin with a 5 p.m. cocktail hour in Morrison Hall preceding the 7 p.m. awards presentation in Orange Hall Theatre.

For more than a century after it opened its doors in 1892, Orange County Trust operated as a true community bank with locations centered in Middletown only. In 1995, the bank opened a branch in Montgomery and today it manages nine branch locations in Orange and Dutchess counties. Terry Saturno is the bank’s president and chief executive officer, and John Morrison III is chairman of the Board of Directors.

The Orange County Partnership, a private, not-for-profit, economic development agency, is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year. The Partnership has attracted a wide array of businesses to Orange County, sparked economic development and supported the retention and expansion of business entities within the county. The Partnership’s efforts have added to the vibrancy of the region, enhanced the quality of life throughout the county, and broadened the tax base by creating new and better-paying jobs. Maureen Halahan serves as the Partnership’s president and CEO.

Sullivan is president of Smith, Seaman & Quackenbush, Inc. Funeral Home in Monroe and Highland Mills. He also owns the William F. Hogan Funeral Home in Highland Falls. Sullivan is actively involved in the community and currently sits on the board of Hospice of Orange & Sullivan Counties and is on the board of directors of the Orange County Chamber of Commerce. In addition, he serves on the finance committee of his church, Sacred Heart in Monroe. He continues to serve as a firefighter for the Mombasha Fire Company. Sullivan is a past recipient of the Marion S. Murphy “Neighbors helping Neighbors” award from the United Way.

Richards, concluding his eighth year at SUNY Orange, is a visionary leader who understands that community colleges are catalysts for economic stability and expansion, as well as creators of educational growth for residents of the areas those colleges serve. He has overseen the expansion of the College’s new Newburgh branch campus, including the opening of Kaplan Hall this spring, and is currently working to enhance the College’s Middletown campus with a new Lab School and a Center for Science and Engineering.

Miller, also a recipient of the Marion S. Murphy “Neighbors helping Neighbors” award in 2010, is manager of communications for Frontier Communications’ southeast region. Miller has served on the SUNY Orange Alumni Board and is the most recent past president of the SUNY Orange Foundation’s Board of Directors. She is also past president of the Middletown Rotary Club, serves on the Leadership Orange Board of Directors and helps coordinate Frontier’s volunteer efforts in the community.

The SUNY Orange Foundation was established as a non-profit corporation in 1987. According to the Foundation by-laws, the objectives for which the foundation exists are to solicit, receive, hold, invest, administer and make expenditures of gifts to or for the benefit of Orange County Community College. In 2010-11, the Foundation awarded nearly $150,000 in scholarships that helped deserving students attend SUNY Orange.

Among the hallmarks of the foundation’s scholarship program is the President’s Scholarship for Academic Achievement, which is awarded to a select few incoming freshmen from Orange County high schools who are in the top 10 percent of their high school class, or hold a cumulative grade point average of 90 or better, and plan to enroll full-time at SUNY Orange. In all, more than 80 scholarships are funded through the efforts of the Foundation.

For information on this year’s awards program, contact Pat Cregar at (845) 341-4769.

Past Recipients of the SUNY Orange Foundation Leadership Awards

Leadership in Business
2006: John A. D’Ambrosio, president, Orange County Chamber of Commerce
2007: James W. Taylor Jr., chairman, Taylor Recycling
2008: Frontier Communications
2009: Advance Testing
2010: Orange Regional Medical Center

Leadership in Community
2006: John J. “Jack” McMahon, former administrator, SUNY Orange
2007: Ralph Martucci Jr., director of corporate business operations, Ottaway Newspapers
2008: Roberta “Bobbie” Glinton ’64, agent, Hawks Nest Realty
2008: Rich and Marianne (’83) Rowley, community activists
2009: Kaplan Family Charitable Foundations
2009: Barbara Bedell, columnist, Times Herald-Record
2010: 105th Airlift Wing of the New York Air National Guard

Leadership in Education
2006: Joan I. Siegel, faculty emeritus, SUNY Orange
2007: Don Przytula, guidance counselor, Monroe-Woodbury High School
2008: Sister Ann Sakac, former president, Mount Saint Mary College
2009: Dr. John Cummins, faculty emeritus, SUNY Orange
2010: Christine Godwin, faculty emeritus, SUNY Orange

Alumni Leadership Award
2009: Manfred Altstadt ’70, chief operating officer, Mutual of America
2010: David S. MacFarland ’70, president, Riverside Bank

» Back to Headlines

Mike Albright
Communications Officer
115 South Street
Middletown, NY 10940