Appointed by Governor David Paterson for 7-Year Term

PHOTO: Thomas HunterMIDDLETOWN, N.Y. – Thomas Hunter, vice president and senior relationship manager for the Income Property Group of Key Bank in Manhattan, has been appointed by New York State Governor David Paterson as the newest member of the SUNY Orange Board of Trustees.

Hunter, who was appointed by Paterson on Nov. 2, was sworn in by Board chairman Dr. Arthur C. Anthonisen at the Trustees’ Dec. 8 meeting. Hunter’s term will expire on June 30, 2017. He continues a family legacy of service to the SUNY Orange Board, following his uncle Sears Hunter (1985-94) and brother Stephen Hunter (1995-2005) who both previously filled terms as trustees.

A lifelong Orange County resident who grew up on a dairy farm in Blooming Grove, Thomas Hunter remains active in numerous organizations. He currently serves as a member of the Urban Land Institute, New Jersey Apartment Association, Real Estate Finance Association of Connecticut, Apartment Association of Greater Philadelphia, New Jersey Future, New Jersey Mortgage Banker Association, the National Association of Office and Industrial Properties, and the Hamptonburgh Democratic Committee.

He has also served as a member of the Board of Directors of Orange County United Way, Hudson Valley Better Business Bureau and the Warwick Rotary Club. He has supported many local charities and organizations, and volunteered for numerous community service projects and youth sports programs.

Hunter earned a bachelor of science degree in meteorology from Cornell University and an MBA from Pace University. He is an avid cyclist, golfer, skier and squash and tennis player. He and his wife Cathie reside in Campbell Hall.

The SUNY Orange Board of Trustees is comprised of 10 members. The Orange County executive and governor appoint five and four members, respectively, while the student trustee is selected from the student body. Hunter joins fellow trustees Anthonisen, Gertrude F. Mokotoff (vice chair), Sister Margaret Murphy (secretary), Dr. Roberto Calderin, Robert E. Krahulik, Stephen P. O’Donnell, Helen G. Ullrich, Joan H. Wolfe and Vicki Boucher-Parisella (student trustee).

The Board meets on the morning of the second Wednesday of each month throughout the year, except for its summer hiatus in July and August.

» Back to Headlines

Mike Albright
Communications Officer
115 South Street
Middletown, NY 10940