Music of Rosini, Delius, Puccini and Tchaikovsky to be Featured at Paramount Theatre

MIDDLETOWN, N.Y. – The SUNY Orange Community Orchestra will perform selected works of composers Gioacchino Rossini, Frederick Delius, Giacomo Puccini and Peter Ilyitch Tchaikovsky during its annual Fall Concert set for 8 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 13 at Middletown’s Paramount Theatre, 17 South St.

Under the direction of Hilarie Clark Moore, the orchestra will showcase Rossini’s “Il Barbiere di Siviglia” overture; two of Delius’ pieces for small orchestra, “On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring” and “Summer Night on the River”; Puccini’s “Manon Lescaut,” featuring the intermezzo from Act III; and Tchaikovsky’s “Symphony No. 3 in D Major, Op. 29.”

The concert will mark the debut performance of the orchestra with its new acoustical shells, funded in part by the Warwick Savings Foundation. The orchestra will dedicate the evening’s concert to Warwick Savings Foundation.

Rossini’s opera, “The Barber of Seville,” premiered on February 20, 1816, at the Teatro Argentina, Rome. Its famous overture contains no portions of the music that follows, but rather borrows themes from two earlier Rossini operas, “Aureliano in Pamira” and “Elisabetta, regina d’Inghilterra.” The themes of the overture anticipate the wit and frivolity of the opera perfectly and foreshadow the wonderful fun of a plot full of many twists and turns.

Sir Thomas Beecham describes Delius as “the last great apostle in our time of romance, emotion, and beauty in music.” Delius’s music is distinctive and his style almost always easily recognized. “On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring” evokes the serene and peaceful sounds of a spring morning, including the persistent sound of the cuckoo. Its companion piece, ”Summer Night” is equally contemplative with the gentle rocking of a small boat, the quiet dripping of water from its oars and a quiet evening coming to a close.

The beautiful and moving intermezzo from Puccini’s opera, Manon Lescaut, is extremely passionate. This popular orchestral intermezzo precedes Act III when Manon, the heroine, is about to be deported to America as a sentence for theft and prostitution. Puccini’s music, using themes from the first two acts, captures the irony and regret of her tragic fate.

Tchaikovsky’s “Symphony No. 3 in D Major, Op. 29” is his only symphony in a major key and the only one to have five movements. Written just before “Swan Lake,” the Third Symphony’s form resembles a dance suite.

Admission to the concert is $5. Active duty military personnel and SUNY Orange students with a valid ID card will be admitted free. Tickets can be purchased at the door, or acquired in advance from an orchestra member. The SUNY Orange Orchestra is comprised of SUNY Orange students and members of the community, and continually provides affordable and accessible high-quality entertainment alternatives for local residents. For more information, call (845) 341-4787. The Paramount Theatre is universally accessible.

» Back to Headlines

Mike Albright
Communications Officer
115 South Street
Middletown, NY 10940