Corey Booth Named Regional Player of the Year; Colts Moving on to East District Championship This Weekend with World Series Berth on the Line

PHOTO: SUNY Orange Second Baseman Corey BoothSUFFERN, N.Y. – SUNY Orange will play in the East District Championship this weekend in Rochester, N.Y. after taking the Region XV title last weekend at SUNY Rockland's Hawk Field.

A berth in the NJCAA Division II World Series (slated for Edin, Okla.) will be on the line in Rochester this weekend. The Colts will face Region 3 Champion Monroe CC and Region 21 Champion UCONN Avery Point. The tournament is a double elimination format.

In addition to their strong play at the regional tourney, the Colts also learned that second baseman Corey Booth (right) was named the Regional Player of the Year. It is the first such honor for a SUNY Orange player under head coach Wayne Smith. Booth also ranks among the national batting leaders.

Region XV Recaps

After just two at bats, SUNY Orange took an 8-0 lead and held on for 16-8 victory over Rockland Community late Sunday afternoon at Hawk Field in Suffern.  Rockland CC, the tournament’s top seed, pushed play into the “if necessary game” by defeating the Colts 15-11 earlier in the day.  Orange rallied to defeat Rockland, 7-6, in a winner’s bracket game on Saturday to advance to the championship.  Rockland, after handing Westchester a 13-5 opening round loss on May 7, downed the Vikings, 12-4, late Saturday night to advance to the title round.

Leading the Orange offensive attack was tournament Most Valuable Player Josh DePew.  At the dish, DePew batted .500 with two doubles, four walks and seven RBI.  The sophomore left-hander also tossed seven strong innings and had nine strikeouts in Saturday’s win over Rockland.  

The All-Tournament team consisted of: Joe Gatewood, Dutchess; Pasquale Nigro, Westchester; Frank Sinatra, Westchester; Pablo Rivera, Rockland; Aaron Carman, Orange; Chris Landry, Rockland; Matt Costello, Orange; Chris Lupardo, Rockland; Travis Renwick, Orange; Jordan Kolinsky, Rockland; Corey Booth, Orange; Jared Croce, Rockland; Josh DePew, Orange (MVP).

Game by Game Results

Game 7

Orange 16, Rockland 8 (Orange wins championship) - Leading 8-0 going into the bottom the second inning proved too much for the Hawks to overcome, as Orange out-slugged Rockland en route to the title.  The Colts hammered 15 hits to Rockland’s 10.   Region XV “Player-of-the-Year”, Corey Booth went 4-for-5 with 3 RBI and teammate Josh DePew went 3-for-4 with 3 RBI to lead Orange.  Booth finished the tournament with a .529 batting average, with three doubles and three RBI.  Aaron Carman also had three hits for the Colts, who captured their first Region XV title since 2006.  Jared Croce, who led the tournament with 14 hits and a .589 average, went 3-for-5 with two RBI for Rockland. 

Game 6

Rockland 15, Orange 11 - Rockland pounded out 21 hits, and rallied from a 6-0 deficit to force a deciding game.  Sophomore Chris Lupardo had four hits and five RBI for Rockland.  Teammate Mike Barbetto tallied three hits and scored three runs.  Zac Menendez and Joe Clarke had three hits each for Orange.

Game 5

Rockland 12, Westchester 4 - After seeing their lead cut to 8-4, the Hawks scored four runs in the bottom of the fifth to secure the elimination game victory.  Jordan Kolinsky went 3-for-3 with three RBI and two runs scored for Rockland.  Chris Landry, a sophomore center fielder, added two hits for the Hawks.  Chris Orlando had two hits for Westchester, which advanced to the tournament’s second day for the first time in 11 years.

Game   4

Orange 7, Rockland 6 - Rockland took a 6-5 lead heading into the top of the ninth inning.  However a pair of sacrifice flies by Aaron Carman and Matt Costello propelled the Colts to a 7-6 victory.  Costello finished with two hits and three RBI.  Rockland’s Jared Croce went 4-for-5 with three RBI in the losing effort.  Both starting pitchers battled their way through trouble.  Josh DePew tossed 7 innings and struck out nine for Orange, while his counterpart, Pete Lompado shrugged off a five run deficit to strike out seven in 7.2 innings of work.

Game 3

Westchester 7, Dutchess 3 - Pasquale Nigro went the distance to earn the victory, as the Vikings eliminated Dutchess.  Nigro allowed three runs, four walks and five hits in 9 innings.  Frank Sinatra, Brian Santana, and Anthony Petrone each collected two hits for Westchester.  The Vikings will meet the loser of the Orange-Rockland game in the day’s final game.  Joe Gatewood went 2-for-3 for Dutchess.

Game 2

Orange 8, Dutchess 7 - The Colts scored six unanswered runs over the final four innings to stun third-seed Dutchess.  The second-seeded Colts will face Rockland in Saturday’s winner’s bracket final.   Zac Menendez’s bloop single to left field and Josh DePew scored the winning run in the bottom of the ninth for Orange.  Before the Orange rally, Dutchess looked to be in control and took a 6-0 lead after two innings.  Corey Booth had three hits and Nick Mauro and Joe Clark each had two for Orange.  Dutchess was led by Joe Gatewood’s three hits and three RBI.  Dutchess faces Westchester in Saturday’s loser bracket game at 10am.

Game 1

Rockland 13, Westchester 5 - Rockland took charge early, leading 8-1 after two innings and cruised to the opening game victory.  Mike Barbetto, Chris Landry, Jordan Kolinsky, Jared Croce and Louie Guglielmetti had three hits apiece for the Hawks.  In all, Rockland collected 19 hits.  Justin Sherman went 3-for-4 with two RBI for Westchester.  The Vikings play in Saturday’s 10am elimination game, while the Hawks play in the 1pm winner’s bracket final. 

2010 All-Region Division II Baseball

1st Team / 2nd Team

C: Vincent Martorelli – Rockland / Nicholas  Gattuso – Ulster

1B: Jordan Kolinsky – Rockland / Joe Coto – Sullivan

2B: Corey Booth – Orange / Steven  Flynn – Dutchess

3B: Chris Lupardo – Rockland /  Aaron Carman – Orange

SS: Mike Casabona – Orange / Christopher  Orlando – Westchester

OF: Joseph  Gatewood – Dutchess / Zac Menendez – Orange

OF: Michael  LaTempa – Dutchess / Jared Croce – Rockland

OF: Andy Mendez – Westchester / Bienvenido Martinez – Sullivan

DH: Miguel Hidalgo – Dutchess / Pablo Rivera – Rockland

Utility: Kevin Mayone – Ulster / Lou Guglielmetti – Rockland

P: Ryan Fasano – Rockland / Josh DePew – Orange

P: Peter Lompado – Rockland / Stephen Lambert – Westchester

Player of the Year – Corey Booth, Orange

Piitcher of the Year – Ryan Fasano, Rockland                       

» Back to Headlines

Mike Albright
Communications Officer
115 South Street
Middletown, NY 10940