Music of Johann Sebastian Bach, Claude Debussy and Peter Tchaikovsky to be Featured

MIDDLETOWN, N.Y. – The SUNY Orange Community Orchestra will showcase the music of Johann Sebastian Bach, Claude Debussy and Peter Tchaikovsky during its annual Fall concert, set for 8 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 14 at Middletown’s historic Paramount Theatre, 17 South St.

The performance, which opens the orchestra’s 13th season, will include Bach’s “Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 (in G Major),” Deussy’s “Petite Suite” and Tchaikovsky’s “Fourth Symphony in F Minor (Op. 36).”

Admission is $5. Tickets can be purchased at the door, or acquired in advance from an orchestra member. The SUNY Orange Orchestra, under the direction of Dr. Hilarie Clark Moore, is comprised of SUNY Orange students and members of the community, and continually provides affordable and accessible high-quality entertainment alternatives for local residents.

Bach’s third Brandenburg Concerto is the shortest and most often played. Debussy’s “Petite Suite” began as a piece for piano for four hands. Henri Büsser, a French composer noted for his orchestration skills, wrote the first orchestral arrangement of this piece. The piano version of “Petite Suite” was first performed on Feb. 2, 1889 in collaboration with the pianist-publisher Jacques Durand. Today, the orchestral suite continues to delight performers and audiences.

Tchaikovsky’s “Fourth Symphony,” completed in early 1878, coincides with a particularly difficult time in his life. At this time, he had a brief and disastrous marriage, a nervous breakdown and a failed suicide attempt. But, starting with the “Fourth Symphony,” Tchaikovsky wrote supercharged melodies that were complete with all the emotion and musical interest the music could bear.

The concert is sponsored by the College’s Arts and Communication Department. For more information, call (845) 341-4787. The Paramount Theatre is universally accessible.

» Back to Headlines

Mike Albright
Communications Officer
115 South Street
Middletown, NY 10940