Dave Brubeck, Duke Ellington, Herbie Hancock and Miles Davis Among Artists to be Featured

MIDDLETOWN, N.Y. – The SUNY Orange Jazz Ensemble will feature music from a variety of renowned artists during its Fall concert, set for 8 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 22 in the College’s Orange Hall Theatre.

Under the direction of Dave Miele, the ensemble will perform music from among the following selections: “Take Five” by Dave Brubeck; “I Love Being Here With You” by Peggy Lee and William Schluger; “Little Sunflower” by Freddie Hubbard; “Don't Get Around Much Anymore” by Duke Ellington; “Michelle” by John Lennon and Paul McCartney; “Body and Soul” by Edward Heyman, Robert Sour, Frank Eyton and Johnny Green; “Cantaloupe Island” by Herbie Hancock; “Mercy Mercy Mercy” by Joe Zawinul; “Tune Up” by Miles Davis; and “Lullaby of Birdland” by George Shearing and George Davis Weiss.

Admission will be by donation to the College’s music scholarship fund.

Members of the Jazz Ensemble include Randall House (soprano, alto and tenor saxes, flute), Angie Selfridge (alto sax), Mike Florez (alto sax), Patrick Cutty (trombone), Carlton Jay (piano), Kevin Sheamon (bass), Dennis Coleman (guitar), Micahel Perrupato (guitar) and Robert Deserto (drums).

For more information, contact the Arts and Communication Department at (845) 341-4787. Orange Hall is located at the intersections of Wawayanda and Grandview avenues in Middletown. Orange Hall Theatre is universally accessible.

» Back to Headlines

Mike Albright
Communications Officer
115 South Street
Middletown, NY 10940