SYMPHONIC BAND CONCERT OCT. 27 OPENS ORANGE HALL THEATER'S FALL 2006 SCHEDULE

10/20/2006

SUNY Orange Symphonic Band to Perform Program Entitled "Something Old...Something New"

MIDDLETOWN, N.Y. – The SUNY Orange Symphonic Band will perform a free concert program entitled “Something Old…Something New” at 8 p.m. Friday, Oct. 27 in Orange Hall Theater. The concert marks the opening of the theater’s Fall 2006 schedule.

The band, comprised of students from Orange County Community College and members of the community, is under the direction of Kevin Scott. The concert program will feature Ralph Vaughan Williams= English Folk Song Suite and Gordon Jacob=s William Byrd Suite, two repertoire standards from the British school of band literature, in addition to the first Orange County performance of John Gibson=s Horizon. Michael Colgrass= Old Churches and Frank Erickson=s Golden Gate Overture round out the program.

The concert is sponsored by the Arts and Communication Department. Admission is free and open to the public. For additional information, call (845) 341-4787.

Below is the remaining Fall 2006 schedule for Orange Hall Theater:

  • Play: “An Enemy of the People”
    Fri. and Sat., Nov. 10-11, 17-18; 8 p.m.
    Sun., Nov. 12, 19; 3 p.m.
  • Improv Class Performance Final
    Tue., Nov. 28, 8 p.m.
  • Jazz Band Concert
    Thu., Nov. 30, 11 a.m.
  • Symphonic Band Concert
    Fri., Dec. 1, 8 p.m.
  • Jazz Ensemble
    Sat., Dec. 2, 8 p.m.
  • Acting Class Performance Final
    Wed., Dec. 6, 8 p.m.
  • Madrigals
    Sat., Dec. 9, 3 p.m. (Morrison Hall Music Room)
  • Orchestra Concert
    Sat., Dec. 9, 8 p.m.
  • Chamber Ensemble
    Sun., Dec. 10, 1 p.m. (Morrison Hall Music Room)
  • Winter Choral Concert
    Sun., Dec. 10, 3 p.m.

» Back to Headlines

Mike Albright
Communications Officer
115 South Street
Middletown, NY 10940
845-341-4728
Email